What provisioning method should I choose?
We recommend automatically provisioning users from your company identity management software, in order to make sure your organization's data in Gong is always up to date.
Why should I provision team members automatically?
We recommend automatic provisioning, for a few reasons:
To reduce the risk of human error, for example, to make sure data capture isn’t turned on for people who should never be recorded.
To save time on manual configuration
To maintain a single source of truth (team member settings that were automatically provisioned aren’t configurable in Gong)
To improve data security while reducing duplicating processes, for example, if somebody leaves your organization, you only need to deactivate them in one place.
What Gong settings should I set via automatic provisioning?
We recommend that you assign Gong seats, permission profiles and data capture settings through automatic provisioning so that your team members always have the correct settings.
If I set up automatic provisioning, can I change anything in Gong manually?
Yes, apart from the mandatory fields that cannot be changed (see below), you can change someone's data at any time, and you can always add and remove people.
If I change something manually, can’t it get overwritten by the automatic source?
That depends. If you’ve manually changed an attribute that syncs automatically with the provision source, it will be overridden every time the provision syncs.
Is there anything I can’t change manually in Gong?
When you select an automatic provisioning source, you won’t be able to change any of the following fields in Gong: first name, last name, emails, and title
If provisioning via Salesforce, you won't be able to change the following in Gong: phone number, cell phone number, phone extension, title, user locale, and user time zone
Can I change team member settings that were set during the provisioning process?
The ability to change settings depends on whether or not you select the Turn off automatic updates and allow manual editing checkbox per assignment (IDP group).
See the next question for more info.
Assignments - what does the 'Turn off automatic updates and allow manual editing' checkbox do?
When the checkbox is selected, i.e. automatic updates are turned off and manual editing is turned on, Gong sets the data capture and permission settings for users in this assignment once, when they are created. If you subsequently change the settings in the provisioning source, the permissions for users in this assignment will not be updated automatically. However, tech admins can edit the settings manually in Gong.
If you choose to leave the checkbox unselected, data capture and permission settings for users in this assignment cannot be edited manually, but will be updated automatically after changes are made in the provisioning source and pushed to Gong.
If you change this setting from selected to unselected, this assignment’s data capture and permission settings are applied to all users instantly. Thereafter, other provisioned settings are applied only when pushed from the provisioning source.
How do I change team member settings when manual changes aren’t allowed?
Should you need to change Gong settings for users that were automatically provisioned and are governed by an assignment that does not allow manual editing of user settings, you can update the settings in one of the following ways:
If the change applies to all your users in the assignment - update the assignment settings.
If the changes apply to only some of your users in the assignment, create a new assignment, and move the new assignment above the old one in the assignments list.
Change the assignment to allow manual changes. This option is not recommended because any users governed by this assignment will no longer be synced to the provisioning source and will not be updated automatically.
What happens if a manually added team member does not exist in the IDP?
Team members who were created manually or are not governed by an assignment are not affected when automatic provisioning is turned on. Any changes for these team members can be done manually. If you add them to your IDP, they will then be provisioned automatically.
What happens if a team member is not governed by an assignment?
The user is added to the default assignment created when you set up automatic provisioning. Depending on whether the assignment is set for manual editing or automatic updates will depend on whether the user's settings are modified in Gong when they are modified in the IDP.
What happens to deactivated users?
Deactivated users won’t be able to sign in to Gong, and their data capture settings are turned off.
How often are changes synced from the source to Gong?
Changes made in Okta and Rippling are pushed immediately to Gong.
Changes made in Salesforce can take up to a few hours to sync to Gong.
Can I import someone with an email domain different from the company’s domain?
Gong doesn’t import users that have a primary email domain different to the primary company domain.
However, if you’re automatically provisioning from Salesforce, there is the option to convert the user’s primary email to the company’s primary domain, so that they can be imported.
What are "Manager's provisioning settings"?
There are two optional provisioning settings that let you set whether to notify managers of provisioned team members, and to let managers control data capture settings for their team members.
Notify direct managers with recorded teams when a new team member is imported
When checked, Gong automatically sends an email to managers with recorded team members when new team members are provisioned. This can help managers ensure that their new team members get set up properly in Gong.
Managers can turn data capture on or off for their team if manual editing is enabled for the assignment
When checked, managers can turn on data capture (recording, call import, and email import) for their team members on the manager's My Settings page.
This setting lets managers enable data capture despite not being a technical admin. If you only want appointed tech admins to have this capability, make sure this box is not checked.