Who can use this: Tech admin
Available on: Any Gong plan
Where to go: Admin center > Settings > People > Team Member Provisioning
Gong allows you to set up automatic provisioning to sync team members between your Identity Provider (IdP) and Gong.
This includes:
Automating this process is the most secure way of ensuring team members can access Gong correctly.
Provisioning users
Once you’ve set up provisioning, the following functionality is supported for all providers:
New users: Users created in the IdP are provisioned in Gong
User updates: Updates made to the user's profile in the IdP are updated in Gong
User deactivation: Deactivating the user or disabling the user's access to the application through the IdP will deactivate the user in Gong
User reactivation: Reactivating a user in the IdP will reactivate the user in Gong
Groups: Users in IdP groups are assigned Gong settings according to the assignment they are mapped to
Supported providers
Gong supports provisioning from the following providers:
What IdP data is provisioned?
Gong can import various fields from your IdP, the following fields are mandatory:
First Name
Last Name
Job Title
Manager which is used to build the company hierarchy. For more details see Team hierarchy.
Configure assignments for IdP groups
Assignments in Gong let you automatically apply Gong settings to users included in that assignment. Each assignment has a corresponding group in the IdP. The Gong settings you can apply to users in your IdP groups are:
Permission profile for each workspace
Method of updating changes in IdP
This eliminates the need for admins to manually assign and maintain these settings for each team member.

Automatic vs manual updates
New users provisioned from the IdP always get the Gong settings as defined in the assignment. Updating team members’ settings can either be managed completely by the IdP and no manual changes can be done in Gong, or partially managed by the IdP, where some settings are enabled.

Automatic: Team members’ details are updated in Gong when changed in the IdP. Their Gong settings are updated if they are move to a different team which has a different assignment. The tech admin can’t manually update fields in Gong. If you change the assignment settings, settings for team member’s managed by this assignment are also changed. This method provides the most secure way of ensuring your team members all have the correct access to Gong.
Manual: Only the team member's first name, last name, and manager fields update automatically when changed in the IdP. Gong settings, including Gong seats, data capture, permission profiles, and consent profile, are set once when the team member is first provisioned. After that, any changes must be made manually.
This option works well if you maintain generic groups in your IdP rather than creating a separate group for each combination of Gong settings.
When a team member moves from one IdP group to another, they are assigned to the provisioning assignment for the new group, and their Gong settings and company hierarchy update to match. After the move, any further changes to their settings must be made manually.
Note:
Changes to a provisioning assignment's settings do not apply to team members who are already provisioned. If you don't update those team members manually, their settings may become inconsistent with the provisioning assignment and with each other.
Assigning permissions with the relevant seats
Certain permissions require a seat for the team member to use a related feature. Team members who have permissions assigned without the relevant Gong seat won’t be able to access these features until the correct seat is assigned. For information on seats, see Plans and seats.